Posted by: inyomouth | January 25, 2009

PIZZA my heart

I have always loved pizza.

pizza

Pizza can even be linked to many fond childhood memories:

  • In elementary school we had reading challenges and the prize was a coupon for one of Pizza Hut’s artery clogging Personal Pan Pizzas.
  • For six years I celebrated end-of-soccer-season awards nights at Round Table.
  • In Italy, my sister and I, unable to read the other dishes on the Italian menus, split “pizza margherita” whenever we went out to a restaurant.
  • And on nights when mom had no energy left to cook with: frozen pizza or a drive to cpk (aka: “California Pizza Kitchen” for those poor people who have not experienced this amazing pizza restaurant).

So it should be no surprise that I wanted to try out my own pizza. With a variety of Trader Joe’s ready to bake dough flavors at such an affordable price, pizza is great for college kitchens. And it can be customized to suit any picky palate.

pizzaingredients

My toppings of choice:

  • Pesto or Marinara Sauce
  • Spinach
  • Mushrooms
  • Tomatoes
  • Mozzarella Cheese
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Basil

Just follow the directions on the dough package, but make sure the center of the pizza is fully cooked before you take it out of the oven.

I prefer whole wheat or garlic and herb pizza dough’s from Trader Joe’s but I might also like to try making my own sometime.

mar

The lovely Marielle looked through cookbooks while I cooked the pizza.

Our common love for reading recipes is only one of the many bonds we share.

-bs

Leave a Reply

Categories

