Posted by: inyomouth | February 22, 2010

Winter Lentil Soup and Biscuits

This soup is so tasty! I am still enjoying the leftovers several days later.

Real Simple Magazine was where I found this recipe. It was the sweet potatoes and leeks that attracted me. The few edits I made were due to things like grocery stores not carrying kale or my love of certain ingredients (I threw in a whole extra sweet potato!).

I wish I could say I made the biscuits from scratch. I had hoped to, but in the end I needed to save time so I made them from a tube. Still delicious.

-b


EEEEEK!! LEEEKS!!

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 4  leeks (white and light green parts), cut into 1/4-inch-thick half-moons
  • 2- 14.5 oz cans diced tomatoes
  • 3 sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1/2 bag spinach or spring greens mix
  • 1 cup brown lentils
  • 1 teaspoon thyme
  • salt and black pepper
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan

EXTRA sweet potatoes.

Directions:

1. Heat the oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add the leeks and cook, stirring occasionally, until they begin to soften, 3 to 4 minutes. Add the tomatoes and cook for 5 minutes.

2. Add 6 cups water and bring to a boil. Stir in the sweet potatoes, spinach, lentils, thyme, 1 ½ teaspoons salt, and ¼ teaspoon pepper. Simmer until the lentils are tender, 25 to 30 minutes.

3. Spoon into bowls and top with the Parmesan. Serve with hot biscuits.

Optional: Serve with a side of lovely dinner guest.

Responses

  1. brita is my hero


Leave a Reply

Categories

