Posted by: chapwoman | May 7, 2010

My Recent Obsession

Yes, this is rice pudding.  But it’s the most delicious rice pudding I’ve ever tasted! And it’s been on my mind and on our stove a LOT these past few weeks.  Maybe it’s the “home-cooked” taste or the delicious mixture of vanilla and almond or that it’s a light but satisfying breakfast/dessert.  The only restaurant in town which makes it is of course, Linnaea’s Cafe on Garden Street. So with only one vendor in town, I decided to try it for myself and the result was instant obsession.  If you also try this recipe, you will love it for all things homey and comforting and slightly sweet.

I gladly share with you my recipe for Almond-Vanilla Rice Pudding:

Almond-Vanilla Rice Pudding

(adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

1/2 cup Arborio rice
1 Quart/4 Cups (both whole and reduced-fat have worked for me)
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 vanilla bean, split (but I use 1 teaspoon pure extract)
1 bay leaf
3/4 teaspoon almond extract

In a large saucepan, place all the ingredients, except the almond extract. Bring it to a gentle boil and then turn it down to a gentle simmer, stirring occasionally to keep it from sticking to the bottom, for about 30 to 40 minutes. Taste the rice to check for doneness. The rice should be very soft and plump.

Take the pudding off the heat and stir in the extract(s). Pour into dessert bowls. You can serve it immediately or let it chill in the fridge. Brita and I prefer it warm :]

_K

Leave a Reply

Categories

